|
For this project, you will need to create an immersive design experience that is grounded in storytelling (used synonymously with the term narrative). Your design inspiration will be based on a favorite work of fiction (romance, science fiction, classic, mystery, short story, etc.). The only limitation is that it may not be a work that has ever been made into a movie or play. The design project consists of a hotel lobby and a casual meeting area serving beverages appropriate to your book. For a hard-boiled detective novel, for example, a bar with alcoholic beverages would be appropriate. For Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, on the other hand, one might design a tearoom. These areas will occupy the first and second floors of the building, The Lobby and Bar/Cafe must meet Barrier Free Accessibility Standards and comply with the NYC Building Code. Please refer to your professor's project description for full instructions and functional requirements.
Image from: "The art and science of storytelling: How to make your hotel brand come alive." Today's Hotelier, www.todayshotelier.com/2016/08/01/the-art-and-science-of-storytelling-how-to-make-your-hotel-brand-come-alive/. Accessed 3 Oct. 2017. |
The James Hotels. "New York SoHo: Sky Lobby." www.jameshotels.com/new-york/soho. Accessed 3 Oct. 2017.
|
Once you've identified a work of fiction that will "set the stage" for your design, you'll need to be sure it has not been adapted into a movie or play. To help determine this, try consulting the following two databases (search by both the name of the book and the author's name, as sometimes a book has been adapted under a different title).
IBDB Internet Broadway Database
You will also want to explore relevant aspects of hotel design and the hospitality industry that will inform your design process, such as:
A good way to get yourself familiar with these terms and concepts is by consulting CREDO, a general but authoritative online reference resource, along with print books, or some general e-books from EBSCO. A keyword search of the subject matter and its related terms should generate useful results to get you started. Similarly, you should also get yourself familiar with the specific needs of/activities within a hotel lobby environment and identify your client (e.g. who are the key "consumers" that your hotel will serve?)
As you get started on your research, consulting verified reference materials such as CREDO and related general print or electronic books in the library's collection will be an important first step in your research and design process.
The NYSID Library has a significant collection of print books on hotel design and hotel environments. Try a search in the Library's online catalog, BobCat using the suggested subject terms and keywords below.
You can sort the results by the newest date if you want to find out the latest research on hotel design.
Useful Subject Terms
Hotels--Designs and plans; Hotel lobbies; Hotels -- Decoration; Hotels -- Design and construction
Avermaete, Tom, and Anne Massey. Hotel Lobbies and Lounges: the Architecture of Professional Hospitality. Routledge, 2013.
Binggeli, Corky. Interior Graphic Standards. Student Edition., 2nd ed, Wiley, 2011.
Karlen, Mark. Space Planning Basics. 3rd ed., Wiley, 2009.
Klingmann, Anna. Brandscapes: Architecture in the Experience Economy. MIT Press, 2007.
McDonough, Brian. Building Type Basics for Hospitality Facilities. Wiley, 2001.
Penner, Richard H., et al. Hotel Design, Planning, and Development. W.W. Norton & Company, 2013.
Piotrowski, Christine M., and Elizabeth A. Rogers. Designing Commercial Interiors. 2nd ed., Wiley, 2007.
Wang, Zhi. Hotels & Bars & Clubs. JTart Publishing & Media Group, 2013.
Willems, Marlous, and Anneke Bokern. Behind Bars: Design for Cafés & Bars. Frame Publishers, 2008.
Yabuka, Narelle. Interior Pop! Gingko Press, 2011.
Yin, Robert K. Case Study Research: Design and Methods. 4th ed., Sage Publications, 2009.
NYSID Library provides over 125,000 e-books for students to use, read and download. We make available more e-books than we have printed books in the library! There are several publishers that provide us e-books, as well as other collections that are available online.
E-books from NYSID Library can be read online, downloaded as PDF's and printed. All of these services vary however from publisher to publisher.
Content found in our e-books includes research information for humanities, design history, design theory, architectural types, software manuals and many textbooks.
Visit the NYSID Library homepage > E-books to search CREDO Reference, ProQuest Ebook Central, and EBSCO eBook collections.
Binggeli, Corky. Interior Graphic Standards. Student Edition., 2nd ed, Wiley, 2011. Ebook Central.
Kilmer, Rosemary, and W. Otie Kilmer. Designing Interiors, Wiley, 2014. Ebook Central.
Levander, Caroline Field and Matthew Pratt Guterl. Hotel Life: The Story of a Place Where Anything Can Happen. The University of North Carolina Press, 2015. EBSCOhost.
Piotrowski, Christine M., and Elizabeth A. Rogers. Designing Commercial Interiors. 2nd ed., Wiley, 2007. Ebook Central.
Searching for journal articles may allow you to find literature and research specifically related to your topic/project, e.g., hotel design trends, or hotel lobby for a specific aspect of hotel design. There are also excellent sources for finding case studies relevant to your project.
NYSID Library's subscription to EBSCOhost includes the following three major databases: Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, GREENFile, and Art & Architecture Source. Combined, it provides you with access to full-text articles of over 600 journals. Although many of the records in the Avery Index are citations only (i.e., not full-text articles), it is very likely that either NYSID's Library or NYU's Bobst Library may have the print versions of the journals quoted in the citations. The Library can also issue a METRO pass to our users for consulting a particular book or journal in the Avery Library of Columbia University that is unavailable elsewhere.
When searching EBSCOhost, you can use any search terms related to hotel environments, such as hotel design, hotel layout, hotel environment, hotel industry, etc. To narrow your search, you can add keywords to your Boolean search specific to your project/research topics, such as "boutique hotel" AND "interior design," OR "interior decoration" AND "nyc or new york city."
The following journals in the NYSID Library may be particularly useful for the study of hotel design and related trends and materials.
