Professional Practice I: Books and EBooks

The NYSID Library is a specialized collection of about 15,000 books and magazines focusing on interior design, architecture, and the decorative and fine arts.  You can search for books and magazines by doing a basic or advanced keyword search using our online catalog, Bobcat.  

Here's a selection of books about the profession obtained by doing a keyword search for interior design + business: 

Designing your business : professional practices for interior designers / by Gordon T. Kendall and Heidi Painchaud.  New York, NY : Fairchild Books, an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing Inc.; 2016.  

The Interior Design Business Handbook: A Complete Guide to Profitability / by Mary V. Kanckstedt. Hoboken, N.J, John Wiley & Sons; 2013.  

Interior design in practice: case studies of successful business models / by Terry L. Mauer and Katie Weeks.  Hoboken, N.J., John Wiley & Sons; 2010. 

Starting your career as an interior designer / by Robert K. Hale, Thomas L. Williams, and Murphy Hooker. New York, Allworth; 2016.  

Interior design reference manual: everything you need to know to pass the NCIDQ exam /  by David Kent. Ballast; Belmont, Calif.: Professional Publications; 2013. 

The NYSID Library has two collections of eBooks:

• EBook Central: a collection of eBooks curated by the NYSID Librarians which includes many of your required textbooks. 
   
• EBSCO eBook Collection: a subscription based service which contains over 100,000 eBooks on a variety of subjects, including the arts, humanities, and the sciences.

Here is a selection of books about the profession obtained by doing a keyword search in EBook Central: 

Designing Interiors by Rosemary Kilmer and W. Otie Kilmer, Hoboken, N.J., John Wiley & Sons, Inc.; 2014. 

Problem Solving and Critical Thinking for Designers / by Christine M. Piotrowski, John Wiley & Sons, Inc.;2011. 

Materials for Interior Environments / by Corky Binggeli, Hoboken, N.J., John Wiley & Sons, Inc.; 2013.  
 

For a detailed tutorial on how to perform basic and advance searches in these and other eBooks databases, check out Module 4: Finding and Using EBooks, available on Canvas within the course: Fundamentals of Library and Information Literacy.   *If you are not already logged into the portal when you click on this link, you will be asked to log in -- simply enter your NYSID ID and password (the one you use to get into the Portal) and it will direct you to the Canvas course.