Archives and Special Collections at NYSID: Access

Location:  New York School of Interior Design Library  170 East 70^th Street (2^nd floor), New York, NY 10012

The NYSID Archives & Special Collections is comprised of the official records of the College and the archives of notable 20^th and 21^st century interior designers or interior design firms.  These collections include drawings, renderings, photographs, surface designs, project specifications, business and personal papers, scrapbooks and ephemera, and are arranged, described, and stored according to generally accepted archival standards.

The Archives is open by appointment during the Library’s Open Hours.  While the Archives is dedicated to promoting equitable access to its materials by all researchers, in some cases materials are restricted by law or through agreement between NYSID and transferring offices or donors. These restrictions are carefully reviewed by NYSID Legal Counsel, the NYSID Archives Advisory Committee, the Library Director, and the Archivist/Librarian.

Making an Appointment:

The NYSID Archives & Special Collections is open to all members of the NYSID community, including administrators, faculty, students, and alumni, as well as independent researchers. Appointments are required to visit in person and can be made directly with the Archivist/Librarian:

Julie Sandy
212-452-4196
julie.sandy [at] nysid.edu

When contacting the Archivist, please include a brief description of the reason for your visit and indicate which collection(s) you wish to consult. Though the Archivist makes every effort to respond to inquiries in a timely manner, please allow 2-3 business days for a response. Please also note that the Archivist is unable to answer in-depth research requests via email or over the phone.

Visiting the Archives

Researchers must use the 170 East 70^th main entrance and check-in at the Front Desk. A library staff member will then accompany them to the Library. Upon arriving in the Library, all researchers are required to fill out a Reader Registration Form and show a valid photo ID for verification before using the collections. By signing the form, the researcher acknowledges that he/she has received and is made aware of the guidelines concerning the use of the collection, as well as reproductions and copyright restrictions. Personal belongings that are not necessary for research will be stored in a secured area of the Library while the researcher is conducting his/her appointment.

Use of the Collection:

• Materials will be consulted in a designated area in the Library’s reading room and when the Archivist/a designated library staff member is present.
• Archival materials cannot be loaned out to researchers.
• Only one box of materials will be delivered to the researcher at a time.
• Researchers should always maintain the order in which the materials were received, and are encouraged to notify the Archivist/library staff if they see something damaged or out of order.
• Laptops, cameras, and personal digital devices (i.e. smartphones and tablets) are permitted in the reading room, but scanners are not.
• Please follow these guidelines when consulting archival materials:
  • Do not bring any food or beverages to the reading table.
  • Please wash your hands before handling materials.
  • Use only pencils for note-taking.
  • Do not write on top of documents.
  • No tracing of drawings is allowed.
  • Use extra care when handling fragile, damaged, or oversize materials.

Restrictions on Use

While the NYSID Archives & Special Collections is dedicated to promoting equitable access to its materials by all researchers, and while the majority of the archival collections is open to researchers without restriction, in some cases materials are restricted by law or through agreement between NYSID and transferring offices or donors. These restrictions are carefully reviewed by NYSID Legal Counsel, the NYSID Archives Advisory Committee, the Library Director, and the Archivist/Librarian.

Finding Aids  

Please visit our online archives catalog to view Finding Aids, and browse and search through the collections.