Archives and Special Collections at NYSID: How to use the NYSID Archives

Archives are made up of documents, images, objects and ephemera. They often record the history of a person, organization, period of time, or event, but they can also be a collection that someone has assembled around a subject or topic.  It is an archivist's job to organize the items and "describe" the contents, so that researchers and the general public know the types of information the archives contain and where that information is located.

You have heard the phrases "what's old is new again" and "history repeats itself"? As modern or novel as a design problem might seem, chances are it has been encountered before.  This is just one reason why it is valuable to look back at the work of designers from decades past, spending time with their archives can help you glean insight into clever space solutions, channel historical styles, and rediscover dynamic color palettes.  It appears counter-intuitive, but looking back can help innovate forward, resulting in rich designs that feel fresh, new, and exciting.

The best way to access NYSID's archival collections is to send an email to the archivist. When in-person visits are possible, the archivist can pull out relevant boxes and folders to peruse; when the researcher is unable to come in person, documents can be scanned and emailed.

Unlike books, textbooks, or articles, archival material is "raw" material open to interpretation. In some cases, only the designer has ever laid eyes on the records of their creative output. Like a treasure chest, these archival traces and documents can be explored and curated to tell unique stories that no one else has teased out before. Whether for a school project, research for a paper or a publication, or just simple design inspiration and problem solving ideas, it is exciting to delve into the history of design in this dynamic way, free to find your own narratives.

Active learning is a unique way of leading students to explore and learn in their own individual styles using primary source materials.  Unlike textbooks that present information in a quantifiable, instructional way, active learning allows students to find their own lessons by approaching historic material directly without prior interpretation and curating content to create their own narratives. This is not only a more dynamic method of learning, it also allows students to feel agency in their own curriculum, to find topics that excite them, and to really engage with the archival material in a fulfilling way.

Using the Archives actively in design curricula requires commitment on the part of faculty, students, and the archivist.  But the rewards justify the effort and provide an unforgettable learning experience for NYSID students.

A finding aid is a tool for accessing the documents and items contained within an archival collection. The aid describes the contents of the collection, both what the items are and exactly where they are located, so that researchers can "find" them. 

At its most basic, a finding aid can be an inventory or spreadsheet, but NYSID's finding aids in our ArchivesSpace catalog are relational--so each item or folder can be linked to creators, subjects, and sometimes digital surrogates (digitized images) within the catalog--and a database contains much more metadata than a spreadsheet finding aid.  Each finding aid will also include biographical information about the creator of the collection, and often historical background for the material, allowing researchers both access to the material and insight into its contents.

Archival material is in many cases considered a "primary source." But what exactly does that mean?

A primary source of information refers to a document, writing, record, or object that was created during the same period as the person, work, or event being researched. Several examples of primary sources would be: letters written between a designer and their collaborators, reviews of buildings that are published shortly after spaces open, original drawings of interiors or pieces of furniture, invoices for services rendered, construction photographs, and handwritten lecture notes.  These are all examples of the kind of primary sources that you will find in the NYSID Archives.

Secondary sources of information compile, report on, and offer their own interpretation or analysis of the primary source information for the researcher.