Historical Styles I & II: JStor Collections

After going to Jstor via the "Articles & Images" button on the library's homepage, go to the Browse dropdown menu in the upper right corner and select Collections.  

OR

Scroll to the bottom of the Jstor landing page and click Explore Jstor >Collections. 

Once you are on the Collections page, content will display alphabetically, and you can easily filter collections with a keyword search in the box at the top of the page. 

You also have the option at this point to select the "Artstor" tab to browse image collections only, but be aware, many other collections that are not specifically Artstor collections also have amazing visual content!  So don't limit yourself too soon.

Another important note: Larger collections may contain smaller sub-collections that are not specifically called out, for instance the Thorne Miniature Rooms Collection, which lives under the Visual Arts Legacy Collection but image groups can best be located by a keyword search of all images for the phrase "Thorne Miniature Rooms Collection" (using the quotation marks).  It will benefit you to play around with different combinations of browsing, filtering and keyword searching in Jstor/Artstor images.

Click on the links to go straight to the collection in Artstor:

Sara N. James European Architecture and Sculpture 

Harthill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts 

This collection includes architecture and its details/interiors.

Historic Illustrations of Art and Architecture 

Need a cool drawing of a Corinthian Column? This is your collection, courtesy the Minneapolis College of Art and Design.

Metropolitan Museum of Art

Their Decorative Arts collection has furniture from many different periods.

Visual Arts Legacy Collection - Thorne Miniature Rooms

These perfect replica models of actual historic interiors from around the world give insight into a wide range of period styles

Museum of Modern Art: Architecture & Design Collection; Painting & Sculpture Collection

Virtual Panoramas of World Architecture 

Want to feel like you are there? Check these 360 degree views of interiors and exteriors, provided by Columbia University.