Your first two assignments involve bathroom design; here are some suggestions of keywords to search in the library's online catalog and electronic databases:
Bathroom Design
Universal Design Bathroom
Commercial Bathroom
Bathroom Case Study
Bathroom Plans
Building Type Bathroom
For the "kitchen of the future" group project, magazine and journal articles will be helpful as they are more current than books. Even if an article isn't available full text (as a PDF or HTML file), the library may well have back issues of the journal where you can see the original article--for instance, we have House Beautiful, the first search result on the above list.
EBSCO Articles can be found on the library's homepage, under the Articles tab in the search box on the upper left.
Another useful database is the Bloomsbury Digital Resources. NYSID Library subscribes to three different Bloomsbury Collections: The Applied Visual Arts Library, the Architecture Library, and the Design Library. Here are some results for kitchens and bathrooms in the Design Library.
Bloomsbury Digital Resources can be found on the library's homepage, under the E-books tab in the search box on the upper left. They can also be accessed through the Library's E-books at NYSID Research Guide.
Assignments later in the semester involve kitchen design: here are some keywords to get you started (Note: many of the books using the search terms below cover both kitchen and bath design):
Building Type Basics
Sustainable Kitchen
Kitchen Equipment
Kitchen Plans
Kitchen Technology
NYSID Library subscribes to CREDO, a collection of 100 electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries and reference books. One of the books available digitally on CREDO is the Time Saver Standards for Architectural Design, which is full text searchable and contains whole chapters of information on ADA Standards and universal design. To go to CREDO via the library's homepage, simply click on the E-books link under the search box.
