EBSCO database provides access to eBooks, articles, and indecie on topics in design, art, architecture and the general humanities. It is NYSID Library's gateway to the most complete indeces on architecture and design.
EBSCO provides access to the Avery Index (associated with Columbia University's Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library) is the most comprehensive indexing on architecture in the world. It indexes hundreds of architecture journals. This resource links to both full text and indexed content (meaning, you may not be able to access the article, but you can use the catalog record to see if NYSID or another local library carries that magazine and issue). However it's important to know that the depth of architectural research within the Avery Index cannot be matched anywhere else.
You can decide to search several databases simultaneously, or choose those that have full text options. Those that provide full-text are:
-Art and Architecture Complete
The Avery Index is the most comprehensive indexing on architecture in the world. It indexes hundreds of architecture journals. This resource links to very little full text content, and you will have to be "old school" by looking up articles in journals. However, the depth of architectural research here can't be matched anywhere else.
NYSID Library's subscription to EBSCOhost service includes the following three major databases: Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, GreenFile, and Art & Architecture Source. Combined, these resources provide you with access to full-text articles of over 600 journals. Although many of the records in the Avery Index are citations only (i.e., not full-text articles), it is very likely that either NYSID's Library or NYU's Bobst Library may have the print versions of the journals quoted in the citations. The Library can also issue a METRO pass to our users for consulting a particular book or journal in the Avery Library of Columbia University.
When searching EBSCOhost databases for articles related to evidence-based design, you can simply enter the keywords "evidence based design" in the search box. However, in order to narrow your results to a particular aspect of evidence-based design, e.g., the effect of lighting or color in the healing process, or learning environment for children with autism, you may want to add another keyword in your Boolean search, e.g., evidence based design AND autism.
