Articles can provide:
Library databases such as EBSCO and JSTOR give you access to thousands of articles from architecture and design magazines and scholarly journals. You'll find articles about the careers of architects and designers and analyses of significant buildings, interiors, and movements. Since journal and magazine articles are published more frequently than books, you may find articles about a particular project published when it was first completed, as well as articles written many years later, from an historical perspective. In both EBSCO and JSTOR databases, articles can be downloaded as pdf's or printed.
Students, faculty and staff have access to full-text databases and e-journals that hold entire articles, as well as indexes that can refer them to citations on their topic. To access these online resources off-campus, you may be asked to login with your NYSID ID and password.
Architectural Record (requires login to the portal for retrieving username and password)
BHA & RILA (Bibliography of the History of Art and Répertoire international de la littérature de l’art via Getty)
EBSCO (includes Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, GreenFILE, Art & Architectural Complete, and Art Full Text)
In order to access articles, you will be asked to sign in using your NYSID credentials. It is recommended that students first log in to Portal and click on the Library tab. From here, database systems will recognize you as a NYSID student.
Some journal articles are available online through our databases (EBSCO, Gale, and Jstor), while some are only available in print. The NYSID Library and other Consortium libraries all have sizeable print journal collections, so if you can't access an article online through a database, you may need to photocopy or scan the article from one of our print journals. Ask a librarian for help if you're unsure how to access an article in a print journal.
If you only want to read articles online, select the "Full Text" option when you conduct your database searches.
There are a number of print journals that contain rich information on building types at the NYSID Library. See below for titles and their records in BobCat.
***Remember that the library has a scan station which is perfect for scanning articles and images as PDF's or Tiffs.
This is an important journal to consult. Each issue is about a building type. You can scan the spines of the magazines to grab one that best suites your topic.
A great publication for plans of interiors and case studies.
NYSID Library holds 2010- present of this rich publication that provides case studies and plans for current works.
Use Keywords: unlike Google or other search engines, databases do not recognize sentences or questions. Instead, search using keywords. The more specific your keyword is, the more likely you are to get relevant results. For example, searching "Siberian Husky" will get you more specific results than just searching "dog."
Use Boolean Operators: you may need to search for two keywords at the same time. The chart below shows how using each Operator limits or widens your search results.
Look at Subject Headings: Many database results will have a list of subject headings for items. When you find a good resource, be sure to look at the subject headings assigned by the database. Not only are they a source for alternate keywords you may use, but they also can lead you to other research based on your topic.
Use Limiters: Databases will offer other ways to limit your research. Some of these limiters include: Date Range, Source Type, Subject, Publisher, Language, etc. These are typically found on a sidebar of the results page.
Photo via Monroe College
Databases have many great features that help you to find exactly what you are looking for. Below is a list of some of the ways to tailor your search for the best results:
Limit Full Text: limits your results to only those that can be accessed online. For more information, see the "Print vs. Online" box above.
Date Range: limits the date range of the publication.
Email: allows you to email an article to yourself or someone else.
Citation: creates a citation for your Works Cited page.
Permalink: gives you the permanent link to the resource. You have the ability to copy and paste the link from the web bar above, but that address may change. A permalink will always bring you back to the right resource.
The following are excellent architectural and interior design online journals. Why can these sites be used for research? Because the content is written by credible authors.
